Meeting Notes Project 2017-01 Modifications to BAL-003 Phase II

October 14, 2022

Conference Call

Administrative

1. Introductions

The meeting was brought to order by the Chair, David Lemmons, at 11:32 a.m. Eastern on Friday, October 14, 2022.

2. Determination of Quorum

The rule for NERC Standard Drafting Team (SDT or team) states that a quorum requires two-thirds of the voting members of the SDT. Quorum was achieved as 9 of 10 members were present.

3. NERC Antitrust Compliance Guidelines and Public Announcement

NERC Antitrust Compliance Guidelines and public announcement were reviewed by Laura Anderson, NERC staff. There were no questions raised.

4. Roster Updates

The team reviewed the team roster and confirmed that it was accurate and up to date.



Agenda

- 1. Review of Meeting Notes from Previous Meetings Laura Anderson, NERC staff
- 2. Discussion
 - a. From the SPM: "A quorum requires two-thirds of the DT voting members. DT action should only occur when a quorum is present during the meeting. While the DT members are encouraged to arrive at decisions through consensus, on the rare occasions when this is not possible, team members assigned by the SC have the right to vote. Voting may take place during formal meetings or may take place through electronic means. Approval of any action of a DT through a vote requires a two-thirds majority of the DT member votes cast. Guests and observers shall not have the right to vote unless an informal straw poll is taken at the request of or by the DT Chair. A DT member may not appoint a proxy to represent the member during team meetings."
 - b. Daniel Baker, member, made a motion, Joshua Boone, Member, seconded the motion. Motion: Based on the results of the last SDT meeting, strike the remaining proposed Requirements R6 and R7 and move forward with errata changes.
 - c. After discussion on the motion, Tom Pruitt, member, amended the motion, and Joshua Boone, member, seconded the amended motion. Amended Motion: Strike Proposed Requirement R6 and proposed Requirement R7 from the present SDT activities and recommend to the respective drafting teams to incorporate into TOP-002 and TOP-003, as submitted by commenters.
 - d. Results of the voted on amended motion: Motion did not pass.
 - e. SDT members who requested their vote show reason for their vote:
 - o Rich Hydzik: "I favor R^ remaining in the standard."
 - Bill Shultz: "My yes vote to strike R6 & R7 reasons: 1) no generating units can run without the governor in service 2) many generators have already modified their governors to provide PFR as evidenced in consistent or improved frequency disturbance events, 3) the FERC Order 842 and associated interconnection agreements which require this governor capability for new generating units, and 4) the ability of the BA to acquire any governor related information needed through the data specification outlined in TOP-003.
 - f. Joshua Boone, member, made a motion and it was seconded by Bill Shultz. Motion: Strike Requirement R7 from the present SDT activities and recommend to the respective drafting team(s) to incorporate into TOP-003, as submitted by commenters.
 - g. The motion passed unanimously.
 - h. The SDT reviewed comments received from industry and draft responses from SDT members.

3. Action Item Review

a. Rich Hydzik, Vice Chair, to draft language for proposed Requirement R5.



4. Future meeting(s)

- a. October 26, 2022 WebEx
- 5. Adjourn

The meeting adjourned at 2:33 p.m. Eastern on October 14, 2022



Attendance						
Name	Company	Member/ Observer	In-person (Y/N)	Conference Call (Y/N)		
David Lemmons	Greybeard Compliance Services	Member	N	Y		
Rich Hydzik	Avista	Member	N	Y		
Tom Pruitt	Duke Energy	Member	Ν	Y		
Greg Park	Western Power Pool	Member	Ν	Y		
Daniel Baker	SPP	Member	N	Y		
William Shultz	Southern Company	Member	Ν	Y		
Jessica Tang	IESO	Member	Ν	Y		
Joshua Boone	LG&E and KU Energy LLC	Member	N	Y		
Antonio Franco	GridForce	Member	N	Y		
Laura Anderson	NERC	NERC staff	Ν	Y		
Jessica Harris	NERC	NERC staff	Ν	Y		
Candice Castaneda	NERC	NERC staff	Ν	Y		
Syed Ahmad	FERC	Observer	N	Y		
Andrew Gallo	ERCOT	Observer	Ν	Y		
Rian Sackett	вра	Observer	N	Y		
Emily Greene	Electric Power Engineers	Observer	N	Y		
Ruida Shu	NPCC	Observer	N	Y		
Chris Bultsma	WAPA	Observer	Ν	Y		
Sean Erickson	WAPA	Observer	Ν	Y		



Attendance						
Name	Company	Member/ Observer	In-person (Y/N)	Conference Call (Y/N)		
Tom Siegrist	Stone, Mattheis, Xenopoulos & Brew, PC	Observer	Ν	Y		