Reliability Legislation
On August 8, 2005, President Bush signed H.R. 6, The Energy Policy Act of 2005, into law. Title XII-Electricity, contains the reliability provisions that NERC has long been seeking. The legislation authorizes the creation of a self-regulatory electric reliability organization (ERO) that spans North America, with FERC oversight in the United States. The legislation respects the international character of the North American electric transmission system by ensuring that Canadian and Mexican interests in the reliability of the interconnected North American electric grid are fully considered. NERC is now working with industry and government to implement the reliability provisions of the new law.

Summary of Reliability Legislation