

Meeting Notes Project 2020-02 Modifications to PRC-024 (Generator Ride-through) Drafting Team

December 18, 2023 | 11:00 a.m. - 1:00 p.m. Eastern

Conference Call with Web Access

Administrative

- 1. Review NERC Antitrust Compliance Guidelines and Public Announcement
- 2. Determination of Quorum
 The rule for NERC Standard Drafting Team (SDT) states that a quorum requires two-thirds of the voting members of the SDT to be physically present. Quorum was met. See table below for meeting attendance.
- 3. Introductions and Chair's Remarks

Agenda Items

- 1. Finalize questions for informal comment period and technical rationale
- 2. Review current timeline
- 3. Review sub-team assignments for draft
- 4. Discuss next steps, timeline, and future meetings
- 5. Adjourn
- J. Calderon initiated the meeting, called roll, and reviewed the NERC Antitrust Guidelines and Participant Policy.

The team discussed R11 and R8. For R11, there were some modifications to the requirement language regarding when an acceptable usage of current blocking could occur. The team discussed the expectations set within IEEE 2800 and some observers shared their concerns on differences between that document and the NERC Reliability Standard draft. X. Wang highlighted that the FERC Order 901 does not provide the same expectation regarding a permissive region (POI voltage @ <0.1p.u.) with an acceptable usage of the IBR entering current block mode.

The team then discussed R8 and where some other requirements may make sense to bring in. Some team members expressed apprehension regarding the current number of requirements. There are some compliance concerns with having so many. J. Calderon discussed presenting a strawman consolidated version for the team's consideration.

Attendance					
Name	Company	Member/ Observer	Straw Vote (X)	Conference Call/Web (Y/N)	
Xiaoyu (Shawn) Wang	Enel North America	Chair		Y	
Husam Al-Hadidi	Manitoba Hydro	Vice Chair		Y	
Joel Anthes	Pacific gas and electric	Member		Y	
Johnny Carlisle	Southern Company	Member		N	
Rajat Majumder	Ørsted North America	Member		N	
Robert O'Keefe	AEP	Member		Υ	
Alex Pollock	AMSC	Member		N	
Ebrahim Rahimi	California ISO	Member		Υ	
Fabio Rodriguez	Duke Energy Florida	Member		N	
Ovidiu Vasilachi	IESO Independent Electricity System Operator (IESO)	Member		Y	
John Zong	Electric Power Engineers	Member		Υ	
Jamie Calderon	NERC	Developer		Υ	
Sarah Crawford	NERC	Observer		N	
Ryan Mauldin	NERC	Observer		N	
Al McMeekin	NERC	Observer		N	
Lauren Perotti	NERC	Observer		Υ	
Aung Thant	NERC	Observer		N	
Pamela Hunter	PMOS	Observer		N	
Anthony Westenkirchner	PMOS	Observer		N	



Sub-team Assignments				
Names	Assignment	Date Assigned		
	None at this time			