Meeting Notes Project 2021-05 Modifications to PRC-023-4 Standard Drafting Team (SDT)

April 18, 2022 | 2:00 – 4:00 p.m. Eastern

Introduction and Chair's Remarks

Mr. Henneberg (Chair) called the meeting to order at 2:00 p.m. Eastern. The Chair provided the Standard Drafting Team with opening remarks and welcomed members and guests. See **Attachment 1** for those in attendance.

NERC Antitrust Compliance Guidelines and Public Announcement

The NERC Antitrust Compliance Guidelines, NERC Participant Conduct Policy, and the Public Announcement were presented and reviewed by the secretary.

Agenda Items

- 1. Prior Action Items
 - a. Ben Wu provided COVID-19 update to the group. No change since last meeting. NERC will continue to utilize WebEx conference calls until further notice.
 - b. April 4, 2022 meeting minutes were reviewed and approved by consent.

2. Develop Draft of Standard, Implementation Plan, VRFs and VSLs

- a. The SDT continued to review FERC Order 773 and previous revisions of PRC-023. After more discussion, the SDT believed that the intent of Requirement R2 is to ensure the relay will operate for faults in the event PSB elements are blocking the relay from operating, which is already covered by Requirement 1. When PRC-023-1 was created, the criteria in Requirement R2 was placed in Attachment A as a cautionary recommendation not intended to be a requirement.
- b. Mrs. Graham and Mr. Smith were assigned to draft technical justification for retirement of Requirement 2 (R2).

3. Other

a. Next Meeting: April 27, 2022 | 2:00 p.m. – 4:00 p.m. Eastern



4. Adjournment

Chair adjourned the meeting at 3:31 p.m. Eastern by consent.



Attachment 1 (April 18, 2022)			
Name	Company	Member/Observer	Date
Gene Henneberg	NV Energy	Chair	4/18/2022
Chris Koteles	ITC Transco	Vice Chair	4/18/2022
Kandas Graham	Xcel Energy	Member	4/18/2022
Ding Lin	Manitoba Hydro	Member	4/18/2022
Manish Patel	Southern Company Services	Member	4/18/2022
Rod Smith	Duke Energy	Member	4/18/2022
Michael Thompson	SEL Inc.	Member	4/18/2022
Ben Wu	NERC	Secretary	4/18/2022
Scott Barfield	NERC	NERC Staff	4/18/2022
David O'Connor	FERC	Observer	4/18/2022
Cindy Jackson	NERC	NERC Staff	4/18/2022
Juan Villar	FERC	Observer	4/18/2022
Syed Ahmad	FERC	Observer	4/18/2022
Anthony Westenkirchner	Evergy	Observer	4/18/2022
Ruida Shu	NPCC	Observer	4/18/2022
Mark Garza	First Energy Corp.	Observer	4/18/2022