

Meeting Notes Project 2021-02 Modifications to VAR-002

February 24, 2023

Conference Call

Administrative

1. Introductions

The meeting was brought to order by the Chair, David Daniels at 1:30 p.m. Eastern on Friday, February 24, 2023.

2. Determination of Quorum

The rule for NERC Standard Drafting Team (SDT or team) states that a quorum requires two-thirds of the voting members of the SDT. Quorum was achieved as 10 of 13 total members were present.

3. NERC Antitrust Compliance Guidelines and Public Announcement

NERC Antitrust Compliance Guidelines and public announcement were reviewed by Laura Anderson, NERC staff. There were no questions raised.

4. Roster Updates

The team reviewed the team roster and confirmed that it was accurate and up to date.



Agenda

- 1. Discussion of comments received from initial 45-day comment period with 10-day ballot
 - a. David Daniels went through the questions and considerations for responses to the comments received and for vetting of the team.
 - b. Question 4:
 - i. SDT is required to consider recommendations from the EPR
 - ii. Reactive capability changes (especially around dispersed power) the SDT can consider creating a SAR for VAR-001
 - iii. Comment: R4 TOP is already covered in VAR-001 for reactive capability changes so a SAR for VAR-001 should be considered
- 2. Draft responses to comments received
- 3. Develop revisions for Draft Version II of VAR-002-5
- 4. SDT member volunteers to draft responses to comments received
 - a. Eric White to draft initial responses to comments for Question 1.
 - b. David and Adrian to draft initial responses to comments for Question 4.
 - c. David and Laura to draft initial responses to comments for Question 7.
 - d. Laura Anderson to send a Doodle Poll to the SDT to determine next meeting dates.
- 5. Future meeting(s)
 - a. March 7, 2023 WebEx
 - b. March 10, 2023 WebEx
- 6. Adjourn

The meeting adjourned at 3:25 p.m. Eastern on February 24, 2023



Attendance				
Name	Company	Member/ Observer	In-person (Y/N)	Conference Call (Y/N)
David Daniels	AEP	Member	N	Υ
Adrian Raducea	DTE Electric	Member	N	Υ
Hans de Boer	Utility Services	Member	N	Υ
Freddy Garcia	ERCOT	Member	N	Υ
C. Scott King	Southern Company Services, Inc.	Member	N	Y
Gabe Kurtz	TVA	Member	N	Y
Kristina Marriott	Miller Bros. Solar, LLC	Member	N	Y
Sean McCormick	Cypress Creek Renewables, LLC	Member	N	Y
David Plumb	TVA	Member	N	Υ
Eric White	BHE Renewables, LLC.	Member	N	Υ
Laura Anderson	NERC	NERC Staff	N	Υ
Lauren Perotti	NERC Legal	NERC Staff	N	Υ
Darrel Richardson	NERC	NERC Staff	N	Y
James Oddy	FERC	FERC Observer	N	Y
Joseph Gatten	PMOS	Observer	N	Y
Mike Johnson	Energy Central	Observer	N	Y
Robert Hirchak	CLECO	Observer	N	Y
Richard Shiflett	AES Corporation	Observer	N	Y
Ruida Shu	NPCC Interconnection	Observer	N	Y