Meeting Notes Project 2019-04 M

Project 2019-04 Modifications to PRC-005

April 29, 2022

Conference Call

Administrative

1. Introductions

The meeting was brought to order by the Chair, Brian Kasmarzik, at 1:02 p.m. Eastern on Friday, April 29, 2022.

2. Determination of Quorum

The rule for NERC Standard Drafting Team (SDT or team) states that a quorum requires two-thirds of the voting members of the SDT. Quorum was not achieved as 9 of 13 total members were present.

3. NERC Antitrust Compliance Guidelines and Public Announcement

NERC Antitrust Compliance Guidelines and public announcement were reviewed by Laura Anderson, NERC staff. There were no questions raised.

4. Roster Updates

The team reviewed the team roster and confirmed that it was accurate and up to date.



Agenda

- 1. Review of Meeting Notes from Previous Meetings
- 2. Discussion
 - a. Batteries:
 - i. New Table 1-4G to be added, to include electrochemical based battery technology
 - b. Definition:
 - i. If the protective function initiates or prevents the automatic isolation of a BES element for certain scenarios, then these functions are within the scope of Protection System definition
 - ii. The PRC-005-6 Supplementary Reference and FAQ document states that Inadvertent Energization Protection is already in the scope (Pages 38-39)
 - iii.

3. Action Item Review

- a. Update Team Roster to reflect Brian Kasmarzik's current company (Quanta Technology)
- b. SDT members to review FAQ prior to next SDT meeting
- c. Working subteams to continue their work.

4. Future meeting(s)

- a. May 5, 2022 Conference Call
- b. May 19, 2022 Conference Call

5. Adjourn

The meeting adjourned at 3:33 p.m. Eastern on April 29, 2022



Attendance					
Name	Company	Member/ Observer	In-person (Y/N)	Conference Call (Y/N)	
Brian Kasmarzik	Quanta Technology	Member	Ν	Y	
Steve Turner	Arizona Public Service	Member	Ν	Y	
Giuseppe Giannuzzi	HQCME, a division of Hydro- Québec TransEnergie designated as Quebec's RC	Member	N	Y	
Andrew Miraldi	FZSonic, Inc.	Member	N	Y	
Randy Rhinier	Duke Energy	Member	Ν	Y	
Deborah Schneider	Santee Cooper	Member	N	Y	
Sudhir Thakur	Exelon Generation	Member	N	Y	
Devon Tremont	Taunton Municipal Lighting Plant	Member	N	Y	
Zhibo Wang	BC Hydro	Member	Ν	Y	
Laura Anderson	NERC	NERC Staff	Ν	Y	
Al McMeekin	NERC	NERC Staff	N	Y	
Cindy Jackson	NERC	NERC Staff	N	Y	
Joseph Gatten	Xcel Energy	PMOS Liaison	N	Y	
Daniel Woldemariam	FERC	Observer	N	Y	
Louis Guidry	CLECO	Observer	Ν	Y	
Hans de Boer	Utility Services	Observer	N	Y	
Brett Koelsch	Progress Energy	Observer	N	Y	
L. Kimes	Kimes Electric	Observer	Ν	Y	
Stephanie Johnson	DOE	Observer	N	Y	



Attendance						
Name	Company	Member/ Observer	In-person (Y/N)	Conference Call (Y/N)		
Leslie Hamby	CenterPoint Energy	Observer	N	Y		
Philip Winston	Southern Company	Observer	N	Y		
Brian Mullins	Jefferson Electric	Observer	N	Y		