

Meeting Notes Project 2019-04 Modifications to PRC-005 August 22, 2022

Conference Call

Administrative

1. Introductions

The meeting was brought to order by the Chair, Brian Kasmarzik, at 1:02 p.m. Eastern on Monday, August 22, 2022.

2. Determination of Quorum

The rule for NERC Standard Drafting Team (SDT or team) states that a quorum requires two-thirds of the voting members of the SDT. Quorum was not achieved as 9 of 13 total members were present.

3. NERC Antitrust Compliance Guidelines and Public Announcement

NERC Antitrust Compliance Guidelines and public announcement were reviewed by Laura Anderson, NERC staff. There were no questions raised.

4. Roster Updates

The team reviewed the team roster and confirmed that it was accurate and up to date.



Agenda

1. Review of Meeting Notes from Previous Meetings

2. Discussion

- a. Is it measurable to have language such as "performed as manufactured"?
- b. The performance needs to be specified in the standard, without reference to documents (like manufacturer recommendations or IEEE standards). The SDT can take a "methodology" type approach where maintenance has to be performed in accordance with a documented methodology that can draw from things like manufacturer recommendations, best practices, or IEEE standards.
- c. Protective function analysis subteam provided an update on their status.
- d. Control circuitry associated with protective functions through the trip coil(s) of the circuit breakers or other interrupting devices.

3. Action Item Review

- a. Review existing standards for the "protective functions" and "protection functions"
- b. SDT members to continue to review FAQ
- c. Working subteams to continue their work.

4. Future meeting(s)

a. TBD - Conference Call

5. Adjourn

The meeting adjourned at 3:52 p.m. Eastern on August 22, 2022



Attendance				
Name	Company	Member/ Observer	In-person (Y/N)	Conference Call (Y/N)
Brian Kasmarzik	Quanta Technology	Member	N	Υ
Eric Graftaas	ВРА	Member	N	Υ
Giuseppe Giannuzzi	Hydro-Quebec	Member	N	Υ
Deborah Schneider	Santee Cooper	Member	N	Υ
Randy Rhinier	Duke Energy	Member	N	Y
Kevin Thompson	ITC	Member	N	Y
Devon Tremont	Taunton Municipal Lighting Plant	Member	N	Y
Sudhir Thakur	Constellation	Member	N	Υ
Zhibo Wang	BC Hydro	Member	N	Υ
Laura Anderson	NERC	NERC Staff	N	Υ
Lauren Perotti	NERC	NERC Staff	N	Υ
Al McMeekin	NERC	NERC Staff	N	Υ
Joseph Gatten	Xcel Energy	PMOS Liaison	N	Y
David Hinds	LCRA	Observer	N	Y
Hassan Vahed	Railway	Observer	N	Y
Toni Orth	Bureau of Reclamation	Observer	N	Υ
Richard Shiflett	AES	Observer	N	Υ