

Meeting Notes Project 2021-02 Modifications to VAR-002

August 31, 2022

Conference Call

Administrative

1. Introductions

The meeting was brought to order by the Chair, David Daniels at 9:30 a.m. Eastern on Wednesday, August 31, 2022.

2. Determination of Quorum

The rule for NERC Standard Drafting Team (SDT or team) states that a quorum requires two-thirds of the voting members of the SDT. Quorum was achieved as 8 of 10 total members were present.

3. NERC Antitrust Compliance Guidelines and Public Announcement

NERC Antitrust Compliance Guidelines and public announcement were reviewed by Laura Anderson, NERC staff. There were no questions raised.

4. Roster Updates

The team reviewed the team roster and confirmed that it was accurate and up to date.

Agenda

1. Discussion

- a. The Standard Drafting Team (SDT) reviewed and drafted redline revisions Reliability Standard VAR-002-4.1 based on the Standard Authorization Request (SAR) and comments previously received by industry.
- The SDT reviewed Attachment 5 recommendations that resulted from the Project 2016-EPR-02 work.

2. Action Item Review

a. Send email to the SDT to solicit volunteers to begin drafting a technical rationale document – Laura Anderson

3. Future meeting(s)

- a. September 6, 2022 WebEx
- b. September 12, 2022 | WebEx

4. Adjourn

The meeting adjourned at 11:30 a.m. Eastern on August 31, 2022



Attendance				
Name	Company	Member/ Observer	In-person (Y/N)	Conference Call (Y/N)
David Daniels	AEP	Member	N	Υ
Adrian Raducea	DTE Electric	Member	N	Y
Kristina Marriott	Miller Bros. Solar, LLC	Member	N	Υ
Hans de Boer	Utility Services	Member	N	Y
C. Scott King	Southern Company Services, Inc.	Member	N	Υ
Eric White	BHE Renewables, LLC	Member	N	Υ
Sean McCormick	ACT Power Services, LLC	Member	N	Υ
Gabe Kurtz	TVA	Member	N	Υ
Laura Anderson	NERC	NERC Staff	N	Y
Darrel Richardson	NERC	NERC Staff	N	Υ
Matthew Lewis	NERC	NERC Staff	N	Y
Cindy Jackson	NERC	NERC Staff	N	Y
Rebecca Moore Darrah	ACES	PMOS Liaison/Obse rver	N	
Nikki Carson-Marquis	MPC	Observer	N	Υ
Laxmi Bhattarai	LG&E and KU Energy LLC	Observer	N	Υ
Aaron Talbott	LG&E and KU Energy LLC	Observer	N	Υ
Kim Turco	Constellation	Observer	N	Υ
Freddy Garcia	ERCOT	Observer	N	Υ