Reliability and Security Technical Committee (RSTC)

​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​The Reliability and Security Technical Committee (RSTC) is a standing committee that strives to advance the reliability and security of the interconnected bulk power system (BPS) of North America by:

  • Creating a forum for aggregating ideas and interests, drawing from diverse industry stakeholder expertise, to support the ERO Enterprise's mission.
  • ​Leveraging such expertise to identify solutions to study, mitigate, and/or eliminate emerging risks to the BPS for the benefit of industry stakeholders, the NERC Board of Trustees (Board), and ERO Enterprise staff and leadership.
  • Coordinating and overseeing implementation of RSTC subgroup work plans.

​​RSTC Approved Documents Page 

  • ​​Reliability Guidelines
  • ​Security Guideline
  • ​Technical Reference Documents
  • ​White Papers​​​


 Disbanded Subcommittees, Working Groups, and Task Forces

Performance Monitoring
Risk Mitigati​​on
Reliability and Security Assessment

EMP Working Group (EMPWG)

Geomagnetic Disturbance Task Force (GMDTF)

Operating Committee

Power Plant Modeling and Verification Task Force (PPMVTF)

Critical Infrastructure Protection Committee

Energy Reliability Assessment Task Force (ERATF)

Planning Committee ​